The Summer of My Content or Cutting the Cord

This post is about an experiment to cut cable. The main reason I cut cable was money. I make no uncertainties about that. Throughout the past few years, my bill has been steadily climbing. It started out under $100 for cable, internet and one DVR. Throughout the next few years it kept inching up to $102… then $108… then $116.

Usually, I would follow the pattern of getting an increase in my bill then calling Time Warner and mentioning to them that AT&T was in my neighborhood offering discounts. Time Warner would then try to move my bill down slightly above what it was, but close enough where I wouldn’t complain or switch companies.

After the last bill increase, I began to question why I’m exerting so many calories to give my business to Time Warner. Were they offering an exclusive service that I can’t get anywhere else? Shouldn’t they be working to keep me satisfied (perhaps an a la carte option). I’m sick of paying for Women’s Entertainment or Lifetime. Realistically, I watch the following cable channels:

• History (Pawn Stars, American Restoration)
• A&E (Intervention)
• ESPN
• ESPN2
• Discovery
• Animal Planet (Whale Wars)
• MLB Network
• Bravo (Whatever the Better Half wants)
• HGTV
• FX (It’s Always Sunny)
• Comedy Central (Southpark)
• AMC (Breaking Bad)

I’m sure there are others that I watch occasionally, but those are the majority of the channels I watch. After evaluating this, I asked myself the following question: Do I get $65 dollars a month or $780 dollars a year of value from those channels? The answer was a resounding ‘no’. I do enjoy watching television and I still would like to keep up with some of the shows I watch so I’m giving Hulu+ a 30 day trial. I hope to have an update on that in July.

While I had cable, I also subscribed to Netflix and Mlb.tv so I plan to increase my usage in those services on my Xbox 360 or Roku box. All-in-all, I’m calling this the Summer of My Content. After the first evening of no cable, I’m excited for the future.

Leave a Reply

