Run in a Million

As I think I’ve written before, I enjoy running. Most of the time, I enjoy running with my Weimaraner Tobey. I’m not a great runner, but that’s the beauty of running. The runner gets out of it what they put in. I run for a variety of reasons. The first and foremost is probably to wear out Tobey. The thing with a weimaraner is that if they don’t get stimulation, they will make up their own. Usually at the expense of household items being destroyed. Additionally, I’m trying to stay in shape and lose some weight in the process.

(Mark & Tobey During at the 2008 Dog Jog)

So far in 2012, I’ve gone on 56 runs anywhere from less than 2 miles up to slightly over 5. In the past few weeks, I’ve been stuck in a rut and been unable to make it past to the 4 mile barrier. Yesterday, I had one of those amazing memorable runs where everything clicks and I passed the 4 mile mark. The run today was even better. And to cap it off, the run yesterday was a run that won’t soon be forgotten.

7/25/12 Run

The run started at around 8pm on a day when the high temperature was over 90 degrees. Thankfully, the sun was behind the trees and there was plenty of light.  The run started good on a familiar a familiar route along the train tracks towards the local downtown. Lately, the rabbits have been extremely bold along the route. Their routine is to sit along the trail and act like there are no threats in the world, which in turn, drives Tobey and me insane. Tobey because he can’t chase them and me because Tobey keeps pulling me.

Within the first half mile, we came across a rabbit and I instantly let Tobey off leash to try send a stern message to the entire rabbit community. Tobey was off like a flash and had the rabbit running for it’s life. Unfortunately, there is a fence separating the trail from the railroad tracks and the rabbit escaped fairly easily. At this point, I got Tobey on the leash and while he was focused on the scent of the adult rabbit, a baby rabbit was literally within 3 feet of him. We kept running and he never saw it.

While Tobey was still on the scent of the adult rabbit, I looked at the train tracks no more than 15 feet away and in my amazement saw an adult doe. It was awesome to be that close. At this point, Tobey finally looked up and his instinct fully kicked in (Weimaraners were originally bred to take down large animals such as bears). I stopped running and there was an intense stare-down between the doe and Tobey that lasted for at lease 3 minutes before the Doe ran off into the sunset.

At this point, it was exhilarating to have been that close to a wild animal. I know how stupid that must sound, but that was a decent sized deer. Tobey and I continued on to the turnaround point at a 9:45 per mile pace. Not fast, but steady. We stopped for a few minutes for water and started heading home. However, after a quarter of a mile something amazing happened.

As we were running back, I looked across the street and saw an amazing Doe and two baby deer. Tobey was pretty tired, but definitely had the eye of the tiger. We were probably 20-30 feet away from them all at this point and it was so cool to see  the mom giving signals to the children with her tail. We stayed and had a second stare-down for at least 5 minutes before the deer headed back into the forest.

After this, I was rested and energized and to close a long story, completed the run at 4.08 miles.  The splits were:

1 4:58.1 0.50 9:56
2 4:51.0 0.50 9:42
3 4:47.8 0.50 9:36
4 4:52.4 0.50 9:45
5 4:55.7 0.50 9:51
6 4:36.7 0.50 9:13
7 4:39.3 0.50 9:19
8 4:31.7 0.50 9:03

7/26/12 Run

Today’s goal was to do a short follow-up on the momentum from yesterday. I wanted to do anywhere from 2-3 miles. However, after I got to a mile I thought it best to just keep going. In the end, I made it 4 miles in 35:12, which is under a 9 minute average.

On the cool down, Tobey and I were walking the neighborhood and there as an Indian child playing on a tricycle on the sidewalk unsupervised. When he saw Tobey and I walking up he immediately started crying because a dog was coming and ran out into the middle of the street to get away. I thought that was really funny. In the end, I’m excited about where I’m at and can’t wait to run again soon (taking tomorrow off so Saturday).

1 4:45.7 0.50 9:31
2 4:47.8 0.50 9:36
3 4:44.6 0.50 9:29
4 4:27.5 0.50 8:55
5 4:23.9 0.50 8:48
6 4:21.3 0.50 8:43
7 4:11.8 0.50 8:24
8 3:57.5 0.50 7:55
One response to “Run in a Million

  1. I didnt know thin Mark, but I already miss him.

Leave a Reply

