Why Columbus is Awesome – The Watershed Distillery

I’ve been lucky enough to call Columbus, Ohio home since I arrived at The Ohio State University in 1997. From the time I arrived, I loved living in a mid-size city. It has most of the benefits of large cities (Broadway plays, top-tier entertainment and concerts, professional sports teams (if you count a team that has never won a playoff game…. yay Bluejackets)) without the drawbacks that plague larger cities such as traffic and crime. Some of my favorite things about Columbus include the Olentangy Trail for running, the Alum Creek Dog Park and the amazing restaurants.

Recently, I’ve stumbled upon another thing I’m a big fan of. The Watershed Distillery, located in the wonderful Grandview Heights. Founded in 2010 by two people my age, the Watershed Distillery distills four unique spirits: Vodka, Bourbon, Bourbon Barrel Gin and Four Peel Gin. I took a tour in late 2012 (Thanks Matty G.!) and came away impressed with the operation. The co-founder (Dave Rigo) gave the tour and was personable and insightful. If you are in the Columbus area, tours run $10 (including samples) and can be booked directly on their website http://www.watersheddistillery.com/. Next time you’re in the market for some solid spirits, support a small local business or the next time you’re looking for a unique experience, I recommend scheduling a tour.

IMG_20121219_165934If you know of other hidden gems in the Columbus area, feel free to drop a note in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

