Cutting the Cable Cord – Summer Edition

I’ve written multiple times in the past about my experience ditching cable. As of this writing, I’m going on 11 months, which conservatively adds up to around $660 of savings. One of the questions I had when I was contemplating removing cable was what do people do as a replacement. In my case, I subscribe to Netflix and access that on my Google Nexus 10, Xbox 360, and my Roku player. I also subscribe to the MLB.tv package so I can get the majority of the Minnesota Twins games (The arcane MLB blackout policy could be it’s own post). Anyway, without further adieu, here is what’s keeping me busy in place of cable television.

Minnesota Twins – MLB.tv

In what has become an oddity in this country, Baseball is my favorite sport. It always has been since I was a little kid. I remember my parents taking me to numerous Minnesota Twins games when we lived in Minnesota. As I’ve got older and the Twins have gotten worse, it hasn’t stopped me from remaining a fan and enjoying watching the games. Watching Joe Mauer everyday is an absolute treat as I think he will be remembered as one of the greatest Twins of all time when he’s ready to retire. As I’ve mentioned before, the Twins broadcasters are nearly unlistenable. Burt Blyleven adds absolutely nothing but shtick to the broadcast and in my opinion, wore out his welcome after about three games. I now watch every game on the non-Twins feed and hope to have a post later in the year grading the various announcing combos (so far Baltimore has been the gold standard).

 

Img_2264Nice guy in person (2006)

Parks and Rec – Netflix

I recently spent a weekend hand addressing wedding invitations. I thought this would be a good opportunity to give Parks and Rec a try. By the end of the weekend, I had all invites addressed and I was through 28 episodes. For those who haven’t seen it, Parks and Rec is created by Michael Schur (who also was influential in the Office) and stars Amy Poehler. It’s one of the few shows I’ve seen where almost every character is likeable. Ron Swanson is amazing and I’m in love with Aubrey Plaza.

ron-swanson-rules

Arrested Development – Season 4 – Netflix

P-Hound! Season 4 was awesome. I watched every episode within 10 days and I’m already can’t wait to find time to rewatch them. For me, the season started slow, but once everything started coming together, it was back to being the best show ever. So far episode 5 is my runaway favorite.

Getting Married

As I mentioned above, I am in fact getting married this month so it is an insanely busy time trying to prepare. This has been a long time coming and I couldn’t be more excited to marry the future Dr. Roehl!

If you have any recommendations or stories of ditching cable, please feel free to drop a note in the comment box.

One response to “Cutting the Cable Cord – Summer Edition

  1. you might be interested in a non sanctioned chronological edit of arrested development
    http://www.reddit.com/r/arresteddevelopment/comments/1fjp36/i_created_a_chronological_edit_as_well_here_are/

Leave a Reply

