Fun with Avatars

I recently moved to a new team at work. As part of the new team, each person has been tasked with creating a unique avatar for themselves so we can track work visually and for team camaraderie. I’m not sure why, but I’ve spent an inordinate amount of time on this.

At first, I settled on my picture from the OSU game when I dressed as Harry Dunne in the blue tuxedo from Dumb and Dumber. However, when I saw it printed, it didn’t have the pizzazz I wanted. After much more deliberation, I decided on a sweet picture of Sterling Archer. As great as the picture was (below), it still seemed lacking because it wasn’t personal.

Archer with Mustache

Last week, I finally had the epiphany I’ve been waiting for. A picture from ‘The Lion King’ holding the baby lion up, but instead of the baby lion, it would be my face (personal note…. I’ve never seen the actual movie so I don’t know the names of the characters. I think the lion is Simba and the monkey holding him up is Baboo, Mustafa or Yogi). After talking to some creative folks on the team who know photoshop, the wheels were in motion. Below are the two pictures that were submitted. The first is so bad that it’s good, and the second looks professionally done. At the end of the day, I think I have one of the best avatars on the team and couldn’t be happier! Now, the only choice is what picture do I use?

IMAGE$491EF5308868FBF4

Picture 1

mark_avatar

Picture 2

If you have a preference or have other great ideas, as always, drop a note in the box below.

Leave a Reply

