The Great Skunking of 2014

Since the weather has been warming up lately, I’ve started running again with the Superfriends. I started in February with a modest 6 runs for close to 13 miles. Once the snow melted in March, I’ve been able to kick it up a notch and have 13 runs under my belt for nearly 36 miles. My 2014 log is below.

marchRunning

If I run outside, I always take at least one of the Pups. This year, I’ve been taking both of them. If they’re being good, I’ll let them run around off leash. It’s usually harmless as they sniff everything and have a great time running around. This leads to today’s run when I let them off leash and they encountered a skunk.

I had them running next to me because we were coming around a bend and I didn’t know what was ahead. Once the coast was clear from people and dogs, I told them to run ahead. They both took off at full speed up a hill. I couldn’t see what was going on but I could hear intense barking and I could see fur flying in the air. I immediately started sprinting to see what was going on. When I got within sight, Lillian was rolling on her back on the ground and Tobey was attacking a skunk.

I immediately started calling them back to me to get them away from the skunk. Lillian came first and I could smell that she had gotten sprayed. Tobey really wanted to avenge his sister so he was still attacking the skunk and refused to leave. Once I got his attention, I called him back and immediately got him on the leash and headed for home at an increased pace to assess the damage.

Miraculously, Lil was the only one hit. I was a slight casualty from her rubbing up against me trying to get the smell off her but Tobey had managed not to get hit. My first thought was “What’s the best way to get rid of skunk spray?”

Thankfully, I starred an article from Lifehacker in my RSS feed. As it turns out, the only things needed are Baking Soda, Hydrogen Peroxide, and Soap. The ratio is:

  • One large bottle of hydrogen peroxide
  • One quarter cup of baking soda
  • Two teaspoons of liquid soap

Of course, I had none of these things on hand so I tied the dogs to the front door and rushed to CVS to buy the supplies. I mixed everything up and did a quick assessment of the situation. As I mentioned, Tobey avoided getting sprayed. He kept licking his chops so I think he managed to get a few good bites in. Since he didn’t stink, I got him inside and started using the solution on Lils. After several minutes, the smell was still in the air, but Lillian was ok. I washed her off and got her in the house.

20140327_185011

Since the house had a smell, my next move was to rush to the grocery store to get some vinegar to boil to neutralize the inside smell. I got back, I put it on the stove to boil and proceeded to give the pups real baths.

In the end, the house still has a slight smell. I can’t tell if it’s from the vinegar or the skunk… but more importantly, the pups don’t smell and the formula worked like a champ.

If your dog ever gets skunked, I highly recommend the formula above and the below video.

If you have any thoughts on Lil getting skunked or any other tips or tricks, please drop a comment in the box below.

One response to “The Great Skunking of 2014

  1. Great article Thank you! I also have two weims and lots of wildlife behind our house. No skunks yet but that is about the only animal I can think of that I haven’t seen in our backyard… Glad your pups are ok.

Leave a Reply

