Podcasts I love

WNCI is the popular station in Columbus. Unfortunately, all they play is overproduced music over and over and over again. If you want to hear Lady Gaga, that is the station for you. Fortunately, Columbus also features independent radio in the form on CD102.5, The Alternative Station. In my opinion, this is one of the best stations in the country. From the Big Room Brunch on Sunday (featuring live performances recorded in their studio) to Front Stage every night at 9pm where the station features local music.

The problem with only one station that I really like is that I can only listen so much every day before it gets repetitive. Thankfully, when I drive to and from work (as well as long roadtrips), I’ve found some great Podcasts to help pass the time. With that said, here are a few of my favorites.

1. Gleeman and the Geek – http://gleemangeek.libsyn.com/

For this podcast, it helps to be a Minnesota Twins fan, however, that’s only a minor requirement. Aaron Gleeman (aarongleeman.com) and John Bonnes (twinsgeek.com) team up to bring an entertaining podcast. I wish I knew a better way to describe this, but both hosts are very likable and the 90 minutes tends to fly by. Whether it’s Aaron giving updates on not leaving the house or John giving updates on a midlife crisis motorcycle purchase, it seems like you’re at the table with the hosts enjoying a pitcher of beer. If they ever have an episode at the Lions Tap (http://www.lionstap.com/), I may have to fly up to witness it.

2. Stuff You Should Know – http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/hsw-shows/stuff-you-should-know-podcast.htm

This is a podcast featuring Josh Clark and Charles W. (Chuck) Bryant that touches on various topics that people wish they knew more about. The informal banter and 20-35 minute length is perfect. The rapport that Josh and Chuck have is extremely entertaining. I’m convinced my friend Harold is also Josh Clark because they sound the same and have the same sense of humor.

Daves of Thunder – http://davesofthunder.com/

Perhaps the greatest podcast ever. I was crushed when this went away. It featured Hollywood writer Dave Feeney and radio personality Dave Dameshek in an hour that had amazing original content and amazing arguments. I remember waking up on Monday and downloading this podcast before I got in the shower and listening to and from work. Just dynamite. I wish there was a way to get this podcast back again.

Adam Carolla Podcast – http://www.adamcarolla.com/

The Guinness Record holder for most downloaded podcast ever. The production value is extremely high and the guests allow something for everyone. If you’re checking out the archives, I can’t recommend the Lenard Nemoy episode enough. Also, anything with Dr. Drew is a must listen to.

Others to check out: The Poscast with Joe Posnanski, This American Life and Planet Money.

If you have any podcasts you’d recommend, please feel free to mention them in the comments.

Leave a comment